In recent years, research has confirmed just how powerful music can be as a therapy, a way of lifting mood and a means to create unity. More notably, it is capable of stirring memories that may have, ostensibly, long-departed – particularly in the elderly.

I have a keen interest in music as a therapy and am considering pursuing this further post-degree. Having established a LinkedIn account, in June of 2018, rather fortuitously an advert for a Volunteer Music and Singing Assistant, with the Orders of St John Care Trust, popped up as suggested employment. As this felt like a great opportunity to acquire some knowledge and experience, I applied. Here’s a similar (current) advertisement:

Volunteer Music & Singing Assistant (Cheltenham) – The Orders of St John Care Trust | Do-it.org volunteering made easy

Having talked to the Volunteer and Events Manager, an informal interview was arranged at the care home I hoped to work at. This gave me an insight into day to day operations, the residents I would be working with and my potential role.

Because this was a job working with vulnerable adults, a Disclosure and Barring Service (DBS) check was required. The GOV.UK (2019) website explains the process in some detail – see https://www.gov.uk/government/organisations/disclosure-and-barring-service/about. Briefly summarised, this is an in-depth criminal background check to ensure you are suitable to be a volunteer in this environment. This process usually takes a few weeks.

When DBS checks had been completed, I received a certificate to confirm all was well. Once two employment/personal references had then been obtained by the Orders of St John, I was in a position to attend induction training – although, due to a summer internship, it was early September 2018 before I could identify a suitable date.

The induction training session itself was both interesting and informative. It covered health and safety, personal responsibilities, site protocols, confidentiality and an understanding of dementia care.

I was then introduced to the Activities Coordinator for the home. We discussed how and where I could potentially help and agreed on musical reminiscence sessions, performing songs for the residents or musical workshops. Unfortunately, due to a busy university schedule and work, I wasn’t able to prepare for a session pre-Christmas. Nevertheless, I did attend several similar activities to gain some insight and facilitate my workshop planning.

After several email exchanges, I was able to confirm a date for my first musical reminiscence session. My plan was, using a PowerPoint presentation, to play various embedded World War 2-era songs (I’d established beforehand that these were particularly popular), encourage the residents to sing along to each and then ask them to identify the song title and the artist; the title, a photo of the artist and then their name were revealed in animation, via a keyboard click, at appropriate junctures. Here’s my presentation:

Wartime Songs – Guess the artist PowerPoint

The session itself ran a lot smoother than anticipated – fortunately, there were no IT issues and I managed to maintain a good flow to proceedings. I ensured that I engaged in conversation as much as possible and frequently encouraged and prompted responses from the residents. The only personal criticism was that there weren’t enough songs to present and my scheduled, hour-long, slot amounted to only around forty minutes. Therefore, I will ensure that I have an excess of songs to work with next time, as this will afford a great deal more flexibility in proceedings.

Quite remarkably, my efforts clearly evoked memories with the responses and engagement, prevalent in the room – particularly the resultant sing-alongs. On this basis alone, it would be fair to say that this was one of the most rewarding exercises that I have ever undertaken – all it had cost me was a few hours’ preparation-time (not a big ask at all!).

From a personal perspective, it did feel as if there had been some therapeutic value in what I had delivered – after all, this was affording a brief respite from chronic health conditions and routine for some of the participants. Although, Williamson (2014) asserts that listening to music and music therapy should not be confused with one another:

We all use music in ways we think of as ‘therapeutic’ when we need cheering up, consolation, support or comfort. What we do in these circumstances, however, would not be classed as therapy in a strict sense. Definitions of music therapy vary but they all come down to a situation where ‘the therapist helps the client to promote health, using music experiences and the relationships developing through them’. Music listening can be a part of music therapy but they are not the same thing. Music therapy needs the presence of a qualified therapist. (Williamson, 2014, pp 200-201).

Having seen the impact that listening to music can have, first-hand – the joy of recollection and singing along as a collective – the experience has been a valuable one. Additionally, it has made me more confident in my delivery of workshops and has made me aware that I do have the ability to brighten up lives a little, even if it is for just an hour at a time and may well be subsequently forgotten. I feel truly blessed that I have music and creative ability in my life and it feels wonderful to have been able to give something back, no matter how insignificant.

References:

Do-it (2019) Volunteer Music & Singing Assistant (Cheltenham). Available at: https://do-it.org/opportunities/ebf3e828-5a5b-4ea7-9119-ad7775137df6 (Accessed: 13 February 2019).

Gov.UK (2019) Disclosure and barring service – about us. Available at: https://www.gov.uk/government/organisations/disclosure-and-barring-service/about (Accessed: 13 February 2019).

Williamson, V. (2014) You are the music. London: Icon Books Ltd.

Featured Image:

https://www.osjct.co.uk (2019) (Accessed: 13 February 2019).